Cyber Security Challenge winners

Release Date: 
16 May 2017
Media release

Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Cyber Security Dan Tehan has congratulated the winners, and all participants, in the 2017 Cyber Security Challenge.

Members of the University of New South Wales team UNSW1 [4002 points] were declared the winners, earning a trip to Las Vegas to attend DEFCON 2017, one of the world’s largest cyber ‘white hat’ hacking conventions.

Victoria’s Monash University Team 1 [2938 points] and Western Australia’s Edith Cowan University Team 1 [2772] completed the top three in the 79-team nationwide competition.

The 24-hour Challenge tested the cyber penetration and forensic analysis skills of the participants, who had to perform “capture-the-flag” type tasks for a fictitious business.

“The record number of participants and the skills on display demonstrate Australia is developing a talent pool of up-and-coming cyber security professionals which will be essential for a digital economy,” Mr Tehan said.

“The Challenge exposed students to the wide range of careers available in cyber security and showed some of the nation’s most sought after employers the level of talent coming through our tertiary institutions.

“Through the Government’s Cyber Security Strategy we are focused on creating strong cyber defences and encouraging a truly, cyber smart nation.”

Mr Tehan also thanked event partners Telstra, Commbank, Splunk, BAE Systems, Cisco, Microsoft, PwC, Hacklabs and Facebook for designing, testing and running the game.

To see the final scoreboard in full, visit