2018 Our Watch Media Awards

Release Date: 
11 July 2018
Media release

Joint media release
Minister for Communications, Senator the Hon. Mitch Fifield
Minister for Women, the Hon. Kelly O'Dwyer MP

The Turnbull Government will provide funding of $160,000 to support the Our Watch Media Awards in 2018.

These national awards recognise journalists who contribute to a deeper understanding of violence against women and their children.

Minister for Communications, Senator Mitch Fifield said the Government’s involvement is part of its commitment to reduce violence against women.

“High quality reporting helps to improve public understanding of the issue,” Minister Fifield said.

“It provides context and refrains from victim-blaming and sensationalism.”

The Minister for Women, Kelly O’Dwyer MP, said the Turnbull Government has zero tolerance for violence against women and children. Women have the right to be safe in their homes, in their workplaces and in their communities and the Turnbull Government has committed well in excess of $300 million to measures to address this important issue.

“Improving the understanding and awareness of the need for respect is central to improving the safety of women and their children.”

Our Watch Chair Natasha Stott Despoja said there was a clear link between media reporting and community attitudes towards violence against women.

“The way journalists frame a story about violence against women can have a powerful impact on the way the public understands this violence,” said Ms Stott Despoja.

“By recognising exemplary reporting on this issue, we are highlighting the important role the media plays in shaping the public conversation.”

“By supporting the Our Watch Awards, the Commonwealth Government continues to demonstrate its commitment to preventing violence against women and their children”.

The Our Watch Awards are open to all journalists and media organisations for work produced in Australia between 8 July, 2017 to 7 July, 2018. Entries close on 14 July. The awards ceremony will be held on 13 September, 2018.