Old Parliament House Board

Release Date: 
13 December 2019
Media release

The Government farewells and thanks outgoing Chair of the Board of Old Parliament House (OPH Board), the Hon Dr David Kemp AC.

Since 2014 Dr Kemp has played a leading role in building and developing Old Parliament House as an esteemed institution, attracting thousands of visitors each year.

Dr Kemp enjoyed a long and distinguished 14 year parliamentary career, during which he served as a Minister in the Howard Government for eight years.

In 2016 Dr Kemp was appointed as Chair of the newly formed OPH Board, having served for more than two years before that as Chair of the Old Parliament House Advisory Council. His contributions have helped the Museum proudly tell the story of Australia’s democracy.

“The Government thanks Dr Kemp for his outstanding work in these roles and appreciates his passion for preserving and presenting Australia’s democratic history. We wish him all the best in his decision to pursue other challenges and opportunities,” Assistant Minister Morton said.

The Government is pleased to announce the reappointments of Mr Bernard Wright AO for a further three year term and the Hon Simon Crean to the OPH Board for a further one year term.

“The Government looks forward to their continued guidance in the governance of Old Parliament House, drawing on their lengthy and decorated careers in the Australian Parliament,” Assistant Minister Morton said.

Mr Wright will fill the role of Acting Chair until a new Chair of the Board is appointed.