Non-government delegates announced for CSW60

Release Date: 
6 February 2016
Media release

Ms Sarah Boyd and Dr Anu Mundkur have been selected as this year’s non-government delegates to the 60th session of the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women (CSW60).

Minister for Women, Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash, said the selection of the delegates was based on their ongoing contributions to the empowerment of women.

"Ms Boyd and Dr Mandkur are both passionate advocates for gender equality and should be congratulated on their selection as Australia’s non-government delegates to CSW60," Minister Cash said.

"CSW60 is a powerful platform that allows Australia to help shape the global standards affecting women. Ms Boyd and Dr Mundkur will represent Australia as part of this discussion."

Dr Anu Mundkur is an awarded gender advocate, author and co-founder of the Gender Consortium at Flinders University. She works both nationally and internationally.

Ms Sarah Boyd has a rich history working across government and the not-for-profit sector in the advancement for women’s rights. She is a previous participant in CSW forums and founded The Gender Agency, a consultancy dedicated to advancing unilateral partnerships.

This year, CSW60 will examine women’s empowerment and the link to sustainable development.

"Attaining a higher level of gender equality has enormous socio-economic ramifications. Across the world today, women are more likely to do unpaid work, be over-represented in lower paid jobs and under-represented in the workforce," Minister Cash said.

"Increasing women’s workforce participation is an economic and social priority – it’s good for women and their families, their communities, business and the broader economy."

"I look forward to working with Ms Boyd and Dr Mundkhur on Australia's approach to the promotion and protection of the human rights of women and girls."